The Architectural Conservancy of Ontario – St. Thomas-Elgin Branch, is sponsoring an historic walk of the hamlet of Iona. The walk begins at the Iona Hall, 8851 Iona Road.
The walk includes the 1888 Lumley & Co. General Store, the 1862 Iona Hall, the 1853 William Harris House, and the 1874 former Iona Methodist Church. There’s an optional visit to the Southwold Earthworks, site of a 15th century Attawandaron village.
In this Doors Open style event, visitors have the opportunity to experience the interiors of these buildings. The Lumley & Co. Store contains an Arts & Crafts style apartment that is now operated as a bed and breakfast. This Moorish Revival building with Italianate windows, features polychrome brick detailing. The brickwork has been recently restored.
The owner of this building received a restoration award from the Architectural Conservancy of Ontario, St. Thomas-Elgin Branch on May 17.
The William Harris House, a Classical Revival building, was Iona’s first post office. It has two classical front doors, one of which accesses the former post office. The grounds have been naturalized with wetlands, pond, and a Carolinian forest area.
The Iona Hall was built in a Classical Revival style and first served as a Freewill Baptist Church. It later became a community hall and still, 155 years later, serves that purpose. This building has also been the recipient of an ACO architectural preservation award.
The Iona Methodist Church became part of the United Church in 1925 and now, since 1966, operates as the Christian Fellowship Church. The church interior contains an intricately constructed varnished tongue and groove ceiling. Tea, coffee and desserts are available at the church.
Tickets: $10 ACO members; $15 non-members
Venue: starts at Iona Hall
Address: 8851 Iona Rd
Contact Phone: Laurence, 519-764-2384 or Carl, 519-633-5972